Knowledge / Responsability

KNOWLEDGE/Experience

What we offer
In a period in which adventure tourism is developing in Cape Verde, and while local legislation enables anyone to set up as a local guide or agency, NOBAI, as the market leader and first trekking agency established in the country, is the only structure offering guaranteed specialist knowledge. The mountains are our business and our expertise stems from French state-certified alpine training courses. For your trip, we provide you with:

  • In-depth knowledge of the terrain which enables us to fulfil your wishes and to advise you how best to discover the archipelago, taking you both to unmissable places and to places that nobody else thinks of visiting…
  • A thorough, serious and competent approach developed during several years organising trips for both individuals and groups on behalf of the biggest French walking holiday tour operators. We have organised treks in the Alps, on the island of Reunion, in Sao Tome and Principe, Mozambique and Cape Verde, enabling us today to offer trips that are well-balanced and perfectly adapted to your level and your ambitions.
  • Well-honed logistics and quality equipment (muleteers, cook, tents, mattresses, minibuses and all-terrain vehicles) that overcome obstacles and open up a wide range of possibilities.

RESPONSIBILITY / Respect & gratitude

Responsible tourism
Committed from its creation to the development of respectful and balanced tourism, in 2011 NOBAI was the first local Cape Verde agency to receive the ATR (Action for Responsible Tourism) label. More information here : http://www.tourisme-responsable.org/ (in French)
The main features of our development policy :

  • Training and knowledge transfer has been one of our main projects over recent years. We recruit and train our guides from A to Z in the skills required to lead and manage a group, in knowledge of the natural environment and in lifesaving techniques, and each summer several of them undertake an advanced guiding course with us in the Alps.
  • Promoting better distribution of the benefits of tourism. By means of a system of micro-credit that can be reimbursed through services, we help several of our partners to become independent: assistance with setting up a small restaurant, financing refurbishment work and equipment for homestay rooms, financial support for the purchase of a minibus etc. In this context, we offer 100% homestay trips to enable rural communities to benefit from tourism.
  • There are few female guides across the world. Yet Nobai has as many female as male guides. They show every day in the field that they are by no means the “weaker” sex.
  • Without making a show of it, we dedicate part of our profits to a number of social projects. We help projects including an association for the visually impaired and centres for street children.

    Nobai holds the ATR label,
    Action for Responsible Tourism.

Savoir faire / Bien faire

SAVOIR-FAIRE / Expérience

Nos atouts
A l’heure où le tourisme d’aventure se développe au Cap Vert et où la législation locale permet à tout un chacun de s’improviser guide ou agence locale, NOBAI, leader du marché et première agence de trekking à avoir vu le jour, est la seule structure offrant la garantie d’un savoir faire de spécialistes : La montagne est notre métier et nos compétences sont issues des filières de formation du brevet d’état d’alpinisme français. Pour vos voyages, nous mettons à votre disposition :

  • Une connaissance poussée du terrain qui nous permet de répondre à vos désirs et de vous conseiller utilement pour découvrir cet archipel, en vous emmenant aussi bien aux endroits qu’il ne faut pas manquer que là où personne n’a pensé à aller…
  • De la rigueur, du sérieux et de l’expérience, fruit de plusieurs années d’organisation de voyage et d’encadrement de groupes au service des plus grands tours opérateurs français spécialistes de la marche à pied… (Treks dans le massif alpin, à La Réunion, à Sao Tomé et Principe, au Mozambique et au Cap Vert) qui nous permettent de vous proposer aujourd’hui des séjours équilibrés et adaptés à votre niveau et vos envies.
  • Des guides sélectionnés pour leur enthousiasme à faire découvrir leur pays et à partager leur culture, tous francophones, rigoureusement sélectionnés et formés par nos soins pour répondre aux attentes d’une clientèle exigeante, et suivants régulièrement des formations de recyclage en secourisme pour que vous puissiez voyager en toute sécurité.
  • Une logistique rodée et du matériel de qualité (muletiers, cuisinier, tentes, matelas, véhicules collectifs et tout-terrains) pour faire tomber les obstacles et s’ouvrir toutes les possibilités.

BIEN FAIRE / Respect & gratitude

Tourisme responsable
Engagé depuis sa création dans le développement d’une forme respectueuse et équitable de tourisme, NOBAI s’est vu décerner en 2011 le label ATR (Agir pour un tourisme responsable) première pour une agence locale implantée au Cap Vert. (Plus d’information sur le label ici : http://www.tourisme-responsable.org/ )
Parmi les grands axes de notre politique de développement :

  • La formation et le transfert de connaissances est un des grands chantiers de ces dernières années. Nous recrutons et formons nos guides de A à Z, aux techniques d’encadrement et de gestion de groupe, à la connaissance du milieu naturel, aux techniques de secourisme, et chaque été nous invitons plusieurs d’entre eux à un stage de perfectionnement dans les Alpes.
  • Favoriser une meilleure répartition des retombées du tourisme. Par un système de micro-crédit remboursable en prestations nous aidons plusieurs de nos partenaires à devenir autonomes : aide à la mise en place d’un petit restaurant, financement des travaux de réhabilitations et d’équipement de chambres chez l’habitant, soutien financier pour l’achat d’un minibus… Dans cette optique nous proposons des circuits 100% chez l’habitant pour permettre aux communautés rurales de bénéficier du tourisme.
  • Peu de femmes guides à travers le monde… Pourtant chez Nobai, nous avons autant de guides femmes que d’hommes. Elles montrent chaque jour sur le terrain qu’elles n’ont rien à envier au sexe dit « fort ».
  • Sans en faire étalage nous consacrons une partie de nos bénéfices à divers projets sociaux. Aides à l’association des déficients visuels, aux centres d’accueil des enfants des rues…

Nobai est titulaire du label ATR,
Agir pour un tourisme responsable